Blog Post

Introducing… TSA Council






The Survey Association’s AGM took place on 30th March, so what better time to introduce our Council Members. TSA is the trade body for commercial survey companies in the UK and we presently have over 200 companies as full, associate, supplier, affiliate and academic members. TSA has a dedicated Secretariat, directly employed by TSA, to look after the day-to-day running of the association and also liaise with the wider membership. TSA is governed by this elected Council, which comprises 12 member companies and their representatives. This Council is subdivided into four core committees – Public Relations (PR), Membership & Internal Affairs (MIA), Technical and Finance.

Expert representation

Nick Hampson is the Chair of Council and the President of TSA. He has a great deal of experience in the geospatial sector and has worked within the land survey profession since graduating from Newcastle University in 1983. As well as his ‘day job’ as Managing Director of Malcolm Hughes Land Surveyors Ltd, he actively participates in both RICS and CICES as an examiner, and also assessing University courses for CICES. TSA’s Vice-President is Oliver Viney, the Managing Director of Atlantic Geomatics (UK) Ltd, who brings a different perspective to TSA’s Council. With a degree in Marketing and a background in Business Development and Sales, Oliver is a great advocate for TSA, who is driven to promote best practice and share with users of Spatial Data the benefits of using TSA member companies.   Oliver has chaired the PR Committee for the last five years.

The Technical Committee comprises Sam Roberts as Technical Committee Chair, Met Geo Environmental Ltd, and Maddy Lees of 40SEVEN Ltd, Andy Roberts, of Formby Surveys Ltd and the newly elected Steve Hurp of Evolution Surveys Ltd. The PR Committee includes Claire Fenwick of Spatial Dimensions Ltd, Graham Mills of Technics Group and Lucy Powers of Powers UK (formerly Powers & Tiltman Ltd). Lucy is also Finance Chair, working closely with the Secretariat team to oversee the association’s finances, budgets and forecasting. The MIA Committee Chair is Stuart Dimond of MK Surveys Ltd. Also, on the MIA Committee is Nathan Spencer, representing CSL Surveys (Stevenage) Ltd, and Nick Spenceley of Catsurveys Ltd.

A commitment to success

Between them, the committee members have a wealth of experience and knowledge from their many years in the geospatial profession, across a diverse range of disciplines. All the representatives are involved in the geospatial business and aim to disseminate knowledge and communicate a better understanding of the technology and data-sharing tools at their disposal. Current developments and new thinking on surveying methods and teaching can be complex and wide-reaching.

By having a panel made up of specialists who well understand the challenges and ever-changing shape of the surveying landscape, it ensures TSA can fulfil its remit to promote best practice, provide a forum for discussion, and ensure the continued professional development for its members. In this way members can truly benefit from being a part of something that provides solutions to surveying challenges and has a clear vision of the sector’s future.